Treasures in the Trash

“Starting when I was nine years old, in 1962, I had a passion for picking up,” he said recently. “I had, like, a three-block radius. I would look through the garbage and pick up toys that people threw out, and I would fix them. I had two brothers and three sisters, and I was like Santa Claus to them.” Nelson Molina

Excerp from From The NewYorker article:

Saving Treasures from the Trash, A Sanitation worker shows off the notable items he has rescued from curbs and bins over the course of thirty years. By David Owen

From Youtube: One Mans Trash Trailer

Here a video from The Guardian:
https://embed.theguardian.com/embed/video/us-news/video/2014/dec/22/new-york-trash-museum-video

 

Here a video link from the NewYorker: Tour a collection of treasures plucked from thirty-four years’ worth of New York City garbage.

 

Leave a Reply

